1. Tom Radford as Orsino and Sarah Lambie as Valentine
Back to the top

Swallows & Amazons

New Album

Swallows GIF
Swallows-and-Amazons-4-(c)-Mark-Carline

A new stage version by Bryony Lavery
Based on the children’s novels by Arthur Ransome

Endless summer days, pirates and treasure maps. Captain John and his crew; Susan, Titty and Ship’s Boy Roger, set sail for Wildcat Island to do battle and find adventure on the lakes.

A major new adaptation by the Tony Award-nominated Bryony Lavery (Treasure Island for National Theatre, Frozen for National Theatre & Broadway).

Running time is approximately one hour and 45 minutes, including a 15 minute interval. 

July
Saturday 14 July 2.15pm
Sunday 15 July 12pm
Sunday 15 July 4.30pm*
Saturday 21 July 2.15pm
Sunday 22 July 12pm
Sunday 22 July 4.30pm

August
Wednesday 1 August 2.15pm
Saturday 4 August 2.15pm
Sunday 5 August 12pm*
Wednesday 8 August 2.15pm
Thursday 9 August 2.15pm
Sunday 12 August 4.30pm
Thursday 16 August 2.15pm
Saturday 18 August 2.15pm
Sunday 19 August 12pm
Wednesday 22 August 2.15pm
Sunday 26 August 12pm

*Over 60s concessions available at this performance

BookTickets

Ways to Book

online
The easiest, and cheapest, way to book. Pick your own seats. Safe, secure booking system, 24 hours a day, 7 days a week . Head here to book.

by phone
01244 409 113 (option #1) £2.50 phone transaction fee applies
Mon – Fri: 9am – 8pm | Sat: 9am – 7.30pm | Sun: 9am – 7pm

in person – at Storyhouse
Tickets can be booked using the kiosks in the Storyhouse building (Hunter Street, Chester).

Ticket Prices
£22.50 – £45  – book early for the best prices!
Under 12’s go FREE (each child must be accompanied by a full paying adult)
£7 off for under 26s (all shows)
£7 off for over 60s (selected shows, see schedule above)
Groups of 10+ save £3 (applies to full priced tickets only)
Groups of 25+ save £5 (applies to full priced tickets only)

About Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre

Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre is one of the country’s best-loved open air theatres and regularly plays to sold out audiences across the summer.  The sounds of popping corks, picnics unpacked and happy audiences is the defining sound of Chester’s summer.

Grosvenor Park Open Air Theatre is produced by Storyhouse, Chester’s award-winning cultural centre which opened in May 2017.